Village of Bettsville
The town where history lives...


In the year 1834, John Betts purchased 68 1/2 acres of land in Liberty Township.  In 1838 he had it surveyed into 21 lots which became the Village of Bettsville.  By 1847 Bettsville contained 7 family dwellings, 2 churches, 1 cabinet shop, and one shoe shop with a population of 40.  Bettsville continued to expand and thrive and many more businesses were started and many more families settled in.  In the bitter cold of 1912, the now downtown business district that housed a department store caught fire causing the entire north State Street to burn.  Not one single building stood to exist.  But Bettsville didn't die.  The very next day two businessmen Andrews and Edmonson opened their businesses out of Andrew's kitchen.  The State Street businesses rebuilt to what they are today.  In 1975 the Bettsville Fire Department purchased the Sentle Trucking Company building from Mr. F.W. Craun to make it into what is now the Village Complex housing the Fire Station, Police Station, EMS Building, Water and Sewer Office, and Village Office.  The Village of Bettsville now populates with 661 residents with 3 restraunts, 2 churches, a barber shop, salon, gas station, bank and much more making that small town living nicer than ever.

Contact us:
Village of Bettsville
308 Emma Street
P.O. Box 505
Bettsville, Ohio, 44815

Complex offices: 419-986-5636
Fax: 419-986-5304

Billing Clerk/Secretary: 419-986-5636

Police Emergency: 911
Police Non-Emergency: 419-986-5748
Fire Emergency: 911
Fire Non-Emergency: 419-986-5141

Park: 419-986-6279
Administration Personnel for the Village of Bettsville:

Mayor: Gary Harrison
Village Administrator: Jon Dabrunz
Fiscal Officer: Angela Michaels

Council Members:
Scott Harrison- President
Joyce Harrison
Stan Poe
Bill Klaiss Jr.
Robert Toy
Steve Turpin
Council Meetings are held at the Village Complex on the first Tuesday of each month at 6:30pm.  Public are welcome to attend.

Council Committees:
Park: Rob Toy
Finance: Scott Harrison
Clean Up: Joyce Harrison
Police: Bill Klaiss Jr.
Fire: Steve Turpin
Zoning: Scott Harrison

Water and Sewer Superintendent: Dave Clark
Water and Sewer Billing Clerk: Carolyn Tompkins
Village Solicitor: Rick Palau
Website Builder